• English

Gender Responsive Standards Declaration

The declaration is the result of the Gender Responsive Standards Initiative work that started in 2016.

The opening of the Declaration for signature event took place at the Palais des Nations on May 14, 2019. The event was broadcast live on UN TV and actively promoted in Twitter and Facebook. 

Standards Bodies interested in becoming signatories, or simply seeking further information on the Declaration or the developments of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative, are invited to contact the Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6).

Declaration for "Gender Responsive Standards and

Standards Development"


Complete list of standards organizations having signed the Declaration as of 19 August 2019

Link to a dedicated UNECE YouTube Channel where all videos shared by standards organizations can be found

Please find below links to the pictures and videos shared by standards organizations upon signing the Declaration 

Albania - General Directorate of StandardizationHonduras - Organismo Hondureño de NormalizaciónMexico - Dirección General de NormasSenegal - Association Sénégalaise de NormalisationInternational Organization for Standardization (ISO)
Austria - Austrian Standards InternationalIceland - Icelandic StandardsMoldova - Institute for Standardization of MoldovaSierra Leone - Sierra Leone Standards BureauInternational Telecommunication Union (ITU)
Bolivia - Instituto Boliviano de Normalización y CalidadIndia - Bureau of Indian StandardsMorocco - Institut Marocain de NormalisationSpain - Asociación Española de NormalizaciónInternational Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
Canada - Standards Council of CanadaIreland - National Standards Authority of IrelandMozambique - Instituto Nacional de Normalização e QualidadeSweden - Swedish Institute for StandardsASTM International
Colombia - Instituto Colombiano de Normas Técnicas y CertificaciónItaly - Comitato Elettrotecnico ItalianoNetherlands - Netherlands Standardization InstituteSwitzerland - Swiss Association for StandardizationEuropean Committee for Standardization (CEN) & European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
Congo - Office Congolais de Contrôle

Italy - Ente Italiano di Normazione

New Zealand - New Zealand Standards OrganisationThailand - Thai Industrial Standards InstituteAfrican Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO)
Cyprus - Organisation for StandardisationLatvia - Latvian StandardNew Zealand -New Zealand IEC National CommitteeTrinidad and Tobago - Bureau of StandardsEuropean Environmental Citizens’ Organisation for Standardisation (ECOS)
Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano para la CalidadLithuania - Lithuanian Standards BoardNorway - Standards NorwayTurkey - Türk Standardlari EnstitüsüAMFORI
Ecuador - Servicio Ecuatoriano de NormalizaciónLuxembourg - Institut Luxembourgeois de la Normalisation, de l'Accréditation, de la Sécurité et qualité des produits et servicesPortugal - Instituto Português da QualidadeUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - British Standards InstitutionThe Gold Standard
Gambia - The Gambia Standards BureauMalta - Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs AuthoritySaint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Kitts and Nevis Bureau of StandardUruguay - Instituto Uruguayo de Normas TécnicasVerra
Germany - Deutsches Institut für NormungMauritius - Mauritius Standards BureauSaint Lucia - Saint Lucia Bureau of Standards