

## Past and Future of the UNECE Inland Transport Committee

## **Ministerial Meeting**

21 February 2017, 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., Room XVII, Palais des Nations, Geneva, Switzerland

10.00-10.30	Opening of Ministerial Meeting Mr. Maxim Sokolov, Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation and ITC vice-chairing country Ms. Zhanar Aitzhanova, Permanent Representative of Kazakhstan and Chair of UNECE Mr. Christian Friis Bach, UN Under-Secretary General and Executive Secretary of UNECE Ms. Eva Molnar, Director, Sustainable Transport Division, UNECE
10.30-11.00	<u>Keynote speech:</u> The importance of sustainable inland transport in the economy and world politics  Mr. Didier Chambovey, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the WTO, EFTA, UNCTAD, UNECE, ITC, on behalf of H.E. Ms. Doris Leuthard, President of the Swiss Confederation
11.00-11.45	Coffee break: VIP tour of the ITC exhibition Ministers signing of the poster "The Future Inland Transport we Want" Coffee break courtesy of SCANIA and SIEMENS
11.45-13.00	Panel I: ITC – Gateway to promote connectivity  Moderator: Mr. Sayed Aqa, Vice President, the Islamic Development Bank Mr. Maxim Sokolov, Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation Mr. Abbas Akhoundi, Minister of Road and Urban Development of the Islamic Rep. of Iran Mr. Adamkul Zhunusov, Minister in charge of Energy and Infrastructure, Eurasian Economic Commission Mr. Annadurdy Kosayev, Deputy Minister of Automobile Transport of Turkmenistan  Scheduled high-level contributions  Mr. Osman Nurkovic, Minister of transport and maritime affairs of Montenegro  Mr Ali Hammoud, Minister of Transport of Syria  Hon. Datuk Ab. Aziz bin Kaprawi, Deputy Minister of Transport of Malaysia  Mr. Guilherme W. d'Oliveira Martins, Secretary of State of Infrastructure of Portugal  Mr. László Mosóczi, Deputy State Secretary for Transport of Hungary  Ms. Maria Magdalena Grigore, Secretary of State of Ministry of Transport of Romania  Ambassador Aamar Aftab Qureshi, Act.Perm. Representative of Pakistan to the UN
13.00-15.00	<ul> <li>Mr. Jean-Pierre Loubinoux, Director-General, UIC</li> <li>Lunch break: Award ceremony of the Global Road Safety Film Festival</li> <li>ITC Delegates cocktail courtesy of CITA</li> <li>Ministerial lunch courtesy of UIC</li> </ul>

## 15.00-16.15 Panel II: ITC – Platform to link regulators and innovators: technologies for sustainable mobility Moderator: Mr Miodrag Pesut, Chief, Transport Facilitation and Economics Section Sustainable Transport Division, UNECE Ms Violeta Bulc, European Commissioner for Mobility and Transport Ms Anna Johansson, Minister of Infrastructure of Sweden Mr. François Bellot, Minister for Mobility of Belgium Mr. Volodymyr Omelyan, Minister of Infrastructure of Ukraine Scheduled high-level contributions Mr. Peter Gašperšič, Minister of Infrastructure of the Republic of Slovenia Mr. Lester Michael Henry, Minister of Transport and Mining of Jamaika Mr. Nikolaos Mavraganis, Deputy Minister of Infrastructure and Transport of Greece Mr. Tomislav Mihotić, State Secretary for Infrastructure at the Ministry of the Sea, Transport and Infrastructure of the Republic of Croatia Mr. Hiroyuki Inomata, Director for Technical Planning Office, MLIT, Japan Mr. Serge van Dam, Principal Advisor, Min. of Infrastr. & Environment, Netherlands Mr. Nico Frandi, Counsellor and Deputy Permanent Representative to the WTO, Italy Mr. Jose Viegas, Secretary-General, ITF 16.15-16.30 Coffee break courtesy of KAPSCH 16.30-17.40 Panel III: ITC – the Centre of UN Transport Conventions: the benefits of internationally harmonised regulatory governance for inland transport Moderator: Ms Eva Molnar, Director, Sustainable Transport Division, UNECE Mr. Zhamshitbek Kalilov, Minister of Transport of Kyrgyzstan Mr. Anis Ghedira, Minister of Transport of Tunisia Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, Hon. Minister of Transportation of the Federal Republic of Nigeria Mr. Aleksey Avramenko, First Deputy Minister of Transport and Communications of Belarus Mr Jean Todt, UN SG Special Envoy for Road Safety Mr. Luis Aguilera Ruiz, Secretary of State, Ministry of Interior of Spain Scheduled high-level contributions Mr. Michael Andrew Lashley, Minister of Transport and Public Works of Barbados Mr. Mohammadullah Bataash, Minister of Transport of Afghanistan Mr. Serghei Bucataru, Deputy-Minister of Transport and Infrastructure of Moldova Mr. Thomas Wagner, Deputy Permanent Representative of France Mr Tadeusz Szozda, Chairman of OSJD Committee Prof. Ermelinda Meksi, Deputy Co-ordinator/ Head, Economic Activities, OSCE Mr. Umberto De Pretto, Secretary-General, IRU Mr. Kiran Kapila, Chairman, IRF Geneva Mr. Ciopraga, Secretary General, TRACECA Mr Akira Isawa, Deputy Director, Sectoral Policies Department, ILO

Supported by:

17.55-18.00

17.40-17.55





Mr. Joe Mizzi, Minister of Transport and Infrastructure of Malta





Signing of the Ministerial Resolution
Scheduled high-level contribution

Closing statement by Mr Jerzy Kleniewski, ITC Chairman







