## To: Members of the Bureau of the UNECE Expert Group on Resource Management

From: David MacDonald, Charlotte Griffiths and Hari Tulsidas

Meeting of the Bureau of the Expert Group on Resource Management (EGRM)
Geneva, Switzerland – 18.15 hrs, 2 May 2019
MINUTES

#### Attendance:

	Present	Apology
David MacDonald, EGRM Chair	$\boxtimes$	
Tunde Arisekola, Nigeria	$\boxtimes$	
Hussein Allaboun, Jordan	$\boxtimes$	
Fatih Birol (alternate Glenn Sondak), IEA		$\boxtimes$
Roger Dixon, CRIRSCO	$\boxtimes$	
Mücella Ersoy, Turkey	$\boxtimes$	
Gioia Falcone, IGA		$\boxtimes$
Nurangiz Farajullayeva, Azerbaijan		$\boxtimes$
Milan Grohol, EC	$\boxtimes$	
TBC, IAEA		$\boxtimes$
Zoltán Horváth, EuroGeoSurveys		
Erica Ingvald, Sweden		
Alistair Jones, EGRM TAG		
Kjell Reidar Knudsen, Norway	$\boxtimes$	
Dhiti Tulyatid representing Young Joo Lee, CCOP	$\boxtimes$	
Rafal Misztal, Poland	$\boxtimes$	
Paul Msoma, AUC	$\boxtimes$	
Michael Neumann, EFG	$\boxtimes$	
Roberto Sarudiansky, OLAMI		$\boxtimes$
Bernard Seiller, SPE	$\boxtimes$	
Olga Trofimova for Igor Shpurov, Russian Federation	$\boxtimes$	
Bradley Van Gosen, USA		$\boxtimes$
Charlotte Griffiths, UNECE	$\boxtimes$	
Hari Tulsidas, UNECE	$\boxtimes$	

# **Draft Agenda**

- 1. Approval of draft agenda
- 2. Bureau
- 3. UNFC update
- 4. UNRMS development
- 5. EGRM Work Plan 2020-2021
- 6. Any other business

### Item 1. Approval of Draft Agenda

1. The agenda was adopted without amendment.

### Item 2. Bureau

2. The Chair congratulated and welcomed the new Bureau members Rafal Misztal (Poland), Young Joo Lee (CCOP) and Paul Msoma (AUC). The Bureau now comprises: Mr. David MacDonald (United States of America) as Chair, Mr. Igor Shpurov (Russian Federation) as First Vice Chair, and Ms. Nurangiz Farajullayeva (Azerbaijan), Mr. Kjell Reidar Knudsen (Norway), Mr. Rafal Misztal (Poland), Ms. Mücella Ersoy (Turkey), Mr. Bradley Van Gosen (United States of America), Mr. Hussein Allaboun (Jordan), Mr. Tunde Arisekola (Nigeria), Mr. Milan Grohol (EC D.G. GROWTH), Mr. Paul Msoma (AUC), Mr. Young Joo Lee (CCOP), Mr. Fatih Birol (IEA), Mr. Roger Dixon (CRIRSCO), Professor Gioia Falcone (IGA), Mr. Bernard Seiller (SPE), Mr. Michael Neumann (EFG), Mr. Zoltán Horváth (EGS), Mr. Roberto Sarudiansky (Latin American Mining Organization (OLAMI)) and Mr. Alistair Jones (Technical Advisory Group of the Expert Group on Resource Management) as Vice-Chairs. It was noted that nominations from Portugal, Serbia, Australia and IAEA are awaited.

#### Item 3. UNFC update

- 3. The Chair advised that a simple UNFC revamp will be completed as soon as possible and circulated to the Bureau for comments. The UNFC Revision Task Force expanded to include representatives of all stakeholders will approve the final document. The final document will be circulated to the EGRM and presented to the CSE for endorsement and will be published by the end of 2019.
- 4. The Chair suggested a more fundamental revision will have to be done by updating the category and sub-category definitions, which will be done by early 2020.
- 5. The ensuing discussions suggested taking into account the current implementation of UNFC by the European Union and African Union, which will be impacted if too many changes are made frequently.
- 6. Following discussion, the Chair indicated he would develop a number of proposals to be presented to the EGRM the following day.

### Item 4. UNRMS development

- 7. The Chair clarified that the UN Resource Management System could be envisaged as a tool-kit that could be used aid progression of the projects in a manner that is consistent with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
- 8. Following a detailed discussion on what is meant by UNRMS and who it is targeted at, it was agreed that a proposal would be made to the EGRM the following day that "To consider the requirement of the various stakeholders a short statement outlining who will use UNRMS, what information users need, and for what purpose UNRMS would be used will be prepared and circulated to the Expert Group by 1 September 2019".

### Item 5. EGRM Work Plan 2020-2021

9. Following a review of the draft work plan for 2020-2021, the Bureau proposed to recommend to the EGRM to include CBM work under the Petroleum Working Group, and CMM work under Minerals Working Group. The Bureau decided proposed to not merge the

Nuclear Fuel Resources Working Group into the Minerals Working Group as both have different objectives. The Bureau proposed also to not change the name of the Technical Advisory Group to Technical Coordination Group. The Bureau agreed that these proposals would be presented to the EGRM at the meeting on 3 May.

# Item 6. Any other business

10. No issues were raised.

\*\*\*\*\*\*