Dangerous Goods

About Dangerous Goods

Transport of dangerous goods needs to be regulated in order to prevent, as far as possible, accidents to persons or property and damage to the environment, the means of transport employed or to other goods. However, with different regulations in every country and for different modes of transport, international trade in chemicals and dangerous products would be seriously impeded, if not made impossible and unsafe. Moreover, dangerous goods are also subject to other kinds of regulations, e.g. work safety regulations, consumer protection regulations, storage regulations, environment protection regulations.

In order to ensure consistency between all these regulatory systems, the United Nations has developed mechanisms for the harmonization of hazard classification criteria and hazard communication tools (GHS) as well as for transport conditions for all modes for transport (TDG). In addition, the UNECE administers regional agreements that ensure the effective implementation of these mechanisms as far as transport of dangerous goods by road, rail and inland waterways is concerned.

Latest news

ADR - The English and French versions of ADR 2015 are available. 

18 November 2014
ADR - Country information - Slovakia (Tunnel categories)
ADR - Multilateral agreements - Update (M280)

23 October 2014
ADR - Multilateral agreements - Update (M228, M267, M278)

24 October 2014
Belgium acceded to ADN on 17 June 2014. In accordance with article 11 (2), the Agreement and the Regulations annexed to it entered into force one month later on 17 July 2014.

23 October 2014
ADR - Multilateral agreements - Update (M276, M280)

8 October 2014
ADR - Country information - Switzerland (Main competent authority, update)

1 October 2014
ADR - Country information - Luxembourg (Other notification, recognized technical code)
GHS implementation status: Update European Union (6th ATP to CLP)

13 June 2014 
GHS Rev.5 - Arabic version available online

12 June 2014
GHS implementation status: Update (Bolivia, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Guatemala and Kyrgyzstan)