• English

Gender Responsive Standards Declaration

The declaration is the result of the Gender Responsive Standards Initiative work that started in 2016.

The opening of the Declaration for signature event took place at the Palais des Nations on May 14, 2019. The event was broadcast live on UN TV and actively promoted in Twitter and Facebook. 

Standards Bodies interested in becoming signatories, or simply seeking further information on the Declaration or the developments of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative, are invited to contact the Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6).

Declaration for "Gender Responsive Standards and
Standards Development"


Complete list of standards organizations having signed the Declaration as of 17 March 2020

Link to a dedicated UNECE YouTube Channel where all videos shared by standards organizations can be found

Please find below links to the pictures and videos shared by standards organizations upon signing the Declaration 

Albania - General Directorate of StandardizationGermany - Deutsches Institut für NormungMauritius - Mauritius Standards BureauSenegal - Association Sénégalaise de NormalisationInternational Organization for Standardization (ISO)
Argentina - Instituto Argentino de Normalización y CertificaciónHonduras - Organismo Hondureño de NormalizaciónMexico - Dirección General de NormasSouth Africa - South African Bureau of Standards International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
Austria - Austrian Standards InternationalIceland - Icelandic StandardsMoldova - Institute for Standardization of MoldovaSpain - Asociación Española de NormalizaciónInternational Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
Bolivia - Instituto Boliviano de Normalización y CalidadIndia - Bureau of Indian StandardsMorocco - Institut Marocain de NormalisationSweden - Swedish Institute for StandardsASTM International
and Herzegovina - Institute for Standardization of Bosnia
and Herzegovina
Ireland - National Standards Authority of IrelandMozambique - Instituto Nacional de Normalização e QualidadeSwitzerland - Swiss Association for StandardizationEuropean Committee for Standardization (CEN) & European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
Brazil - Associação Brasileira de Normas Técnicas (ABNT)Italy - Comitato Elettrotecnico ItalianoNetherlands - Netherlands Standardization InstituteThailand - Thai Industrial Standards InstituteAfrican Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO)
Canada - Standards Council of CanadaItaly - Ente Italiano di NormazioneNew Zealand - New Zealand Standards OrganisationTogo - Agence Togolaise de NormalisationAMFORI
Colombia - Instituto Colombiano de Normas Técnicas y CertificaciónLatvia - Latvian StandardNew Zealand -New Zealand IEC National CommitteeTrinidad and Tobago - Bureau of StandardsResponsible Jewellery Council (RJC)
Congo - Office Congolais de ContrôleLithuania - Lithuanian Standards BoardNorway - Standards NorwayTurkey - Türk Standardlari EnstitüsüRound Table on Responsible Soy Association (RTRS)
Cyprus - Organisation for StandardisationLuxembourg - Institut Luxembourgeois de la Normalisation, de l'Accréditation, de la Sécurité et qualité des produits et servicesPortugal - Instituto Português da QualidadeUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - British Standards InstitutionThe Gold Standard
Denmark - Danish Standards Madagascar - Bureau des Normes de MadagascarSaint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Kitts and Nevis Bureau of StandardUruguay - Instituto Uruguayo de Normas TécnicasThe Standards and Metrology Institute for the Islamic Countries (SMIIC)
Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano para la CalidadMali - Agence Malienne de Normalisation et de Promotion de la QualitéSaint Lucia - Saint Lucia Bureau of StandardsVerra
Ecuador - Servicio Ecuatoriano de NormalizaciónMalta - Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority
Gambia - The Gambia Standards Bureau