Millennium Development Goals

Millennium Development Goals

In 2000, the United Nations adopted its Millennium Declaration which provides a comprehensive framework of core values, principles and key drivers in the three overarching mandates of the United Nations: peace and security, development and human rights.

The subsequent Road Map towards the Implementation of the Millennium Declaration brings forward a set of eight universal development objectives, generally known as the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) to be achieved by 2015.

The MDGs have been provided with time-bound operational targets and quantitative indicators, covering all the major dimensions of well-being: decent income, employment, nutrition, access to essential services (health, education, water, housing) and environmentally sound living conditions. For the past ten years, the MDGs have become a worldwide reference framework for moving ahead on all these fronts.

Recent News

11 December 2015
20 November 2015
07 July 2015
26 February 2015