• English

Gender Responsive Standards Declaration

The declaration is the result of the Gender Responsive Standards Initiative work that started in 2016.

The opening of the Declaration for signature event took place at the Palais des Nations on May 14, 2019. The event was broadcast live on UN TV and actively promoted in Twitter and Facebook. 

Standards Bodies interested in becoming signatories, or simply seeking further information on the Declaration or the developments of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative, are invited to contact the Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6).

Declaration for "Gender Responsive Standards and
Standards Development"


Complete list of standards organizations having signed the Declaration as of 26 February 2020

Link to a dedicated UNECE YouTube Channel where all videos shared by standards organizations can be found

Please find below links to the pictures and videos shared by standards organizations upon signing the Declaration 

Albania - General Directorate of StandardizationGermany - Deutsches Institut für NormungMexico - Dirección General de NormasSenegal - Association Sénégalaise de NormalisationInternational Organization for Standardization (ISO)
Austria - Austrian Standards InternationalHonduras - Organismo Hondureño de NormalizaciónMoldova - Institute for Standardization of MoldovaSouth Africa - South African Bureau of Standards International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
Bolivia - Instituto Boliviano de Normalización y CalidadIceland - Icelandic StandardsMorocco - Institut Marocain de NormalisationSpain - Asociación Española de NormalizaciónInternational Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
and Herzegovina - Institute for Standardization of Bosnia
and Herzegovina
India - Bureau of Indian StandardsMozambique - Instituto Nacional de Normalização e QualidadeSweden - Swedish Institute for StandardsASTM International
Brazil - Associação Brasileira de Normas Técnicas (ABNT)Ireland - National Standards Authority of IrelandNetherlands - Netherlands Standardization InstituteSwitzerland - Swiss Association for StandardizationEuropean Committee for Standardization (CEN) & European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
Canada - Standards Council of CanadaItaly - Comitato Elettrotecnico ItalianoNew Zealand - New Zealand Standards OrganisationThailand - Thai Industrial Standards InstituteAfrican Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO)
Colombia - Instituto Colombiano de Normas Técnicas y CertificaciónItaly - Ente Italiano di NormazioneNew Zealand -New Zealand IEC National CommitteeTogo - Agence Togolaise de NormalisationAMFORI
Congo - Office Congolais de ContrôleLatvia - Latvian StandardNorway - Standards NorwayTrinidad and Tobago - Bureau of StandardsResponsible Jewellery Council (RJC)
Cyprus - Organisation for StandardisationLithuania - Lithuanian Standards BoardPortugal - Instituto Português da QualidadeTurkey - Türk Standardlari EnstitüsüRound Table on Responsible Soy Association (RTRS)
Denmark - Danish StandardsLuxembourg - Institut Luxembourgeois de la Normalisation, de l'Accréditation, de la Sécurité et qualité des produits et servicesSaint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Kitts and Nevis Bureau of StandardUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - British Standards InstitutionThe Gold Standard
Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano para la CalidadMalta - Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs AuthoritySaint Lucia - Saint Lucia Bureau of StandardsUruguay - Instituto Uruguayo de Normas TécnicasThe Standards and Metrology Institute for the Islamic Countries (SMIIC)
Ecuador - Servicio Ecuatoriano de NormalizaciónMauritius - Mauritius Standards BureauVerra
Gambia - The Gambia Standards Bureau