Introduction

L’adoption par les pays de normes et d’instruments juridiques internationaux communs et l’harmonisation de leurs règlements techniques présentent des avantages pour tout le monde. Les consommateurs peuvent se rassurer quant au fait que les produits qu’ils achètent répondent à des normes de qualité garanties. Les citoyens peuvent plus facilement traverser des frontières et se livrer au commerce. Les entreprises peuvent innover, investir et rationaliser leur production et leurs ventes de manière plus efficace puisqu’elles n’ont plus à s’adapter à une multitude de règles et de règlements nationaux. Les échanges internationaux se trouvent facilités par le fait que vendeurs et acheteurs s’appuient sur les mêmes classifications, documents et procédures commerciales.

Les conventions internationales juridiquement contraignantes peuvent contribuer à protéger le bien commun, comme les ressources en eau, ou à éviter la pollution atmosphérique. Le travail de législation et de réglementation au plan national se trouve simplifié et accéléré dès lors que des instruments internationaux reconnus peuvent être invoqués. En effet, lorsque des pays mettent au point et partagent des normes et des conventions communes, cela facilite la coopération et la connectivité, ce qui va dans le sens du progrès et de la coexistence pacifique.

Les pays membres de la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l’Europe (CEE‑ONU) en ont eu conscience depuis le début. Les efforts qu’ils déploient ensemble depuis maintenant près de soixante-dix ans ont donné naissance à une masse considérable de conventions, de règlements techniques et de normes harmonisés. Pratiquement tous les organes subsidiaires de la Commission ont contribué d’une manière ou d’une autre à leur élaboration. Pour leur dévouement et leur engagement durant toutes ces années, je remercie l’ensemble des fonctionnaires et des experts gouvernementaux qui ont pris part au travail d’élaboration et d’actualisation de tous ces instruments.

Les études qui ont été faites ont montré que bon nombre des accords de la CEE-ONU relatifs à l’harmonisation des réglementations techniques et/ou des procédures sont effectivement appliqués. La liste ci-après des conventions, règles et normes qui ont été négociées sous l’égide de la CEE-ONU a été dressée dans le but de faciliter l’accès de tous à cette précieuse mine d’informations.

Le Secrétaire exécutif
de la Commission économique
des Nations Unies pour l’Europe

Christian Friis Bach

Introduction

Everybody stands to gain when countries adopt common international legal instruments and standards and harmonize their technical regulations. Consumers can be confident that they are buying products that live up to guaranteed quality standards. Citizens can more easily trade and travel across borders. Companies can more efficiently innovate, invest and streamline their production and sales when they no longer have to adapt to a multitude of national rules and regulations. International trade is facilitated when sellers and buyers use common classifications, documents and trade procedures.

International legally binding conventions can help to protect common goods such as water resources or to avoid air pollution. National legislative and regulatory work is simplified and accelerated when reference can be made to internationally agreed documents. Indeed, when countries develop and share common norms, standards and conventions, it facilitates their cooperation and connectivity, and this can pave the way for progress and peaceful coexistence.

Member countries of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) realized this from the outset. Their common efforts, now for nearly seventy years, have resulted in a wealth of conventions, harmonized technical regulations, norms and standards. Virtually all of the Commission’s subsidiary bodies have contributed in one way or another to their elaboration. I thank all Government officials and experts who have participated in the work on developing and updating these instruments for their dedication and commitment through the years.

Studies have shown that many of UNECE’s agreements on technical and/or procedural harmonization are being effectively implemented.  The attached list of conventions, norms and standards, which have been negotiated under the auspices of the UNECE, has been compiled in order to facilitate wider access to this valuable body of information.

A more recent UNECE-OECD publication showcases examples of successful tools of international regulatory cooperation developed by the UNECE. This joint study reviews the formal and informal processes of developing soft and hard law instruments within our organization. It also highlights the impact that our toolbox has had, challenges that we face and the factors that have led to our success: a demand-driven approach supported by solid analytical and technical expertise, cooperation with external partners, and continuous engagement with stakeholders.

 

 

Christian Friis Bach
Executive Secretary
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe 

 

 

The compendium of Legal Instruments, Norms and Standards is available in English, French and Russian at:

http://www.unece.org/info/publications/compendium-of-legal-instruments.html