• English

About the Bureau

The Inland Transport Committee (ITC) is the highest policy-making body of the UNECE in the field of transport. In the course of the last 60 years, together with its subsidiary bodies, ITC has provided a pan-European intergovernmental forum, where UNECE member countries come together to forge tools for economic cooperation and negotiate and adopt international legal instruments on inland transport. These legal instruments are considered indispensable for developing efficient, harmonized and integrated, safe and sustainable pan-European transport systems.

The Bureau of ITC is mandated to support the good conduct of the ITC annual sessions by means of:

    (i) preparation of a well-focused agenda with the definition of objectives and the setting of time-allocation for each item;
    (ii) indication of principal topics where decisions are needed;
    (iii) delineation of themes of discussion of the session;
    (iv) monitoring and evaluation of the work since the previous session;
    (v) monitoring and coordination of activities in order to avoid duplication with the work of other relevant organizations; and
    (vi) proposing priorities in the programme of work, listing, where possible, various options.

    At its seventy-sixth session (February 2014), the Committee elected the following members for the 2014-2015 term of office:


    Mr. Jerzy Kleniewski



    Ms. Isabelle Paillet


    Mr. Sergey Andreev

    (Russian Federation)


    Mr. Farid Valiyev


    Mr. Sergei Dubina


    Mr. Kristof Schockaert


    Mr. Björn Oriwohl


    Mr. Antonio Erario


    Mr. Bob Oudshoorn


    Ms. Adriana Pacuraru


    Mr. Jean-Claude Schneuwly


    Mr. Roman Symonenko


    Mr. Takhir Aliev


    The European Commission has a standing invitation to attend sessions of the Bureau as observer.