• English

Gender Responsive Standards Declaration

The declaration is the result of the Gender Responsive Standards Initiative work that started in 2016.

The opening of the Declaration for signature event took place at the Palais des Nations on May 14, 2019. The event was broadcast live on UN TV and actively promoted in Twitter and Facebook. 

Standards Bodies interested in becoming signatories, or simply seeking further information on the Declaration or the developments of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative, are invited to contact the Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6).

Declaration for "Gender Responsive Standards and
Standards Development"


Complete list of standards organizations having signed the Declaration as of 17 July 2020

Link to a dedicated UNECE YouTube Channel where all videos shared by standards organizations can be found

Please find below links to the pictures and videos shared by standards organizations upon signing the Declaration 

Albania - General Directorate of StandardizationGermany - Deutsches Institut für NormungMoldova - Institute for Standardization of MoldovaSpain - Asociación Española de NormalizaciónInternational Organization for Standardization (ISO)
Argentina - Instituto Argentino de Normalización y CertificaciónHonduras - Organismo Hondureño de NormalizaciónMorocco - Institut Marocain de NormalisationSweden - Swedish Institute for StandardsInternational Telecommunication Union (ITU)
Austria - Austrian Standards InternationalIceland - Icelandic StandardsMozambique - Instituto Nacional de Normalização e QualidadeSwitzerland - Swiss Association for StandardizationInternational Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
Bolivia - Instituto Boliviano de Normalización y CalidadIndia - Bureau of Indian StandardsNetherlands - Netherlands Standardization InstituteThailand - Thai Industrial Standards InstituteASTM International
and Herzegovina - Institute for Standardization of Bosnia
and Herzegovina
Ireland - National Standards Authority of IrelandNew Zealand - New Zealand Standards OrganisationTogo - Agence Togolaise de NormalisationEuropean Committee for Standardization (CEN) & European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
Brazil - Associação Brasileira de Normas Técnicas (ABNT)Italy - Comitato Elettrotecnico ItalianoNew Zealand -New Zealand IEC National CommitteeTrinidad and Tobago - Bureau of StandardsAfrican Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO)
Canada - Standards Council of CanadaItaly - Ente Italiano di NormazioneNorway - Standards NorwayTurkey - Türk Standardlari EnstitüsüAMFORI
Colombia - Instituto Colombiano de Normas Técnicas y CertificaciónLatvia - Latvian StandardPapua New Guinea - National Institute of Standards and Industrial TechnologyUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - British Standards InstitutionFairtrade International
Congo - Office Congolais de ContrôleLithuania - Lithuanian Standards BoardPortugal - Instituto Português da QualidadeUruguay - Instituto Uruguayo de Normas TécnicasResponsible Jewellery Council (RJC)
Cyprus - Organisation for StandardisationLuxembourg - Institut Luxembourgeois de la Normalisation, de l'Accréditation, de la Sécurité et qualité des produits et servicesRwanda Standards BoardRound Table on Responsible Soy Association (RTRS)
Denmark - Danish Standards Madagascar - Bureau des Normes de MadagascarSaint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Kitts and Nevis Bureau of StandardThe Gold Standard
Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano para la CalidadMali - Agence Malienne de Normalisation et de Promotion de la QualitéSaint Lucia - Saint Lucia Bureau of StandardsThe Standards and Metrology Institute for the Islamic Countries (SMIIC)
Ecuador - Servicio Ecuatoriano de NormalizaciónMalta - Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority Senegal - Association Sénégalaise de NormalisationVerra
Gambia - The Gambia Standards BureauMauritius - Mauritius Standards BureauSerbia - Institute for Standardization of SerbiaWOCAN (Women Organizing for Change in Agriculture and Natural Resource Management)
Georgia - Georgian National Agency for Standards and MetrologyMexico - Dirección General de NormasSouth Africa - South African Bureau of Standards