• English

Forest Products Markets in 2001 and 2002 Speakers for the 2-3 October 2001 Timber Committee Market Discussions

2 October, Tuesday

 

15:00    Keynote presentation: Globalisation of forest products markets

(Secretariat introduction by Mr. Ed Pepke[1])

 

15:15 Mr. Marc Boutin, Director, International Trade

Quebec Lumber Manufacturers' Association

1175, avenue Lavigerie

Sainte-Foy, Quebec, Canada, G1V 4P1

Tel. +1 418 657 7916, fax +1 418 657 7971

e-mail: marc.boutin@sciage-lumber.qc.ca

 

15:45 Mr. Peter Poschen,

Forestry and Wood Industry Specialist

International Labour Office

CH-1211 Geneva 22, Switzerland

Tel. +41 22 799 6188, fax +41 22 799 7967

E-mail: poschen@ilo.org

 

16:00 Discussion on globalisation

 

16:30  Economic situation in the ECE region

Mr. Dieter Hesse, Acting Director

UNECE Economic Analysis Division

464 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Tel. +41 22 917 2479, fax +41 22 917 0036

E-mail: Dieter.Hesse@unece.org

 

16:45 Secondary forest products, including engineered wood products markets

(Secretariat introduction by Mr. Ed Pepke)

 

16:55 European flooring market

Mr. Filip De Jaeger, Deputy Secretary General

European Confederation of Woodworking Industries

Allée Hof-ter-Vleest 5/4

B-1070 Brussels

Tel. +32 2 5562585, fax +32 2 5562595

Email: filip.de.jaeger@cei-bois.org

 

17:10 Discussion

 

17:30  Paper, paperboard and wood pulp

(TC forecasts by Mr. Kit Prins[2])

17:40 Prof. Eduard L. Akim, PhD

Saint Petersburg State Technological University

All-Russian Research Institute of Pulp and Paper Industry

4 Ivana Chernykh Street

Saint Petersburg, Russia 198095

Tel. +7812 247 3558, fax +7812 534 8138

e-mail: akim@ed.spb.su

 

18:00 End of afternoon session

 

3 October, Wednesday

 

10:00 Discussion on paper and pulp markets, if any

 

10:00 Certified forest products markets

(Secretariat introduction by Dr. Jim Bourke[3])

10:10 Dr. Ewald Rametsteiner,

Expert in Certified Forest Products Markets,

Institute of Forest Sector Policy and Economics,

University of Agricultural Sciences

Gregor Mendel Strasse 33

A-1180 Vienna, Austria

Tel. +431 47 654 4343, fax +431 47 654 4417

e-mail: ramet@edv1.boku.ac.at

 

10:20 Discussion

 

10:45  Sawn softwood markets

(TC forecasts by Mr. Ed Pepke)

10:55 Dr. Chris Gaston, Group Leader

Markets and Economics

Forintek Canada Corporation

2665 East Mall

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6T 1W5

Tel. +1 604 224 3221, Fax +1 604 222 5690

E-mail: Gaston@van.forintek.ca

 

11:10 Mr. Lars-Goran Olsson, Marketing Specialist

Swedish Wood Association

Södra Blasieholmshamnen 4 A

S-103 27 Stockholm, Sweden

Tel: +468 762 7966, Fax: +468 762 7990

E-mail: Lars-Goran.Olsson@svenskttra.org

 

11:25 Discussion

12:00 Sawn hardwoods

(TC forecasts by Mr. Ed Pepke)

 

12:10  Temperate hardwoods

Mr. Michael Buckley, Wood Industry Consultant

World Hardwoods

12 Turnstone House

Star Place

St. Katharine Docks

London E1W 1AE, United Kingdom

Tel. +44 20 7709 7408, fax +44 20 7709 7408

e-mail: mibuckley@worldhardwoods.com or mibuckley@hotmail.com

 

12:25  Tropical hardwoods

Mr. Jukka Tissari, Market Development Officer

Division of Product and Market Development

International Trade Center

54-56, rue de Montbrillant

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Tel. +41 22 730 0190, fax +41 22 730 0446

e-mail: tissari@intracen.org

 

12:40 Discussion on hardwoods

 

13:00 End of morning session

 

(Intermission from market discussions)

 

15:00 State of the Worlds Forests

Ms. Danuta Huebner, Executive Secretary

UN Economic Commission for Europe

364 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Tel. +41 22 917 2694, Fax +41 22 917 0505

E-mail: Danuta.Hubner@unece.org

 

Dr. Hosny El-Lakany, Assistant Director General

Forestry Department, FAO

Viale dell Terme di Caracalla

I-00100 Rome, Italy

Tel. +3906 5705 5879, Fax +3906 5705 5137

E-mail: Hosney.ElLakany@fao.org)

 

Discussion

(16:00 Market discussions continue)

 

16:00  Panels

(TC forecasts by Mr. Jorge Najera[4])

 

16:10 Mr Dominique Coutrot, Délégué Général

Union des Industries des Panneaux de Process

33, rue de Naples

F-75008 Paris, France

Tel. +331 53 42 1552, Fax +331 42 93 1997

E-mail: panneaux@club-internet.fr

 

16:25 Discussion on panels

 

17:00 Roundwood markets

(TC forecasts by Mr. Volker Sasse[5])

 

17:10 Mr. Yves Costrel de Corainville

Délégué Général

Fédération Nationale du Bois

6, rue François 1er

F-75008 Paris, France

Tel: +331 56 69 5200, Fax +331 56 69 5209

E-mail: yves.costrel@fnbois.com

 

17:30  Discussion on roundwood

 

18:00 End of session

 

 

Note: All information from the market discussions will be put on the Timber Committee’s website at its Market Information Service (MIS) site at: www.unece.org.unecedev.colo.iway.ch/timber/mis/mis.html

We intend to include: Timber Committee  Market Statement, Timber Committee Market Forecasts, country market statements, secretariat introduction PowerPoint presentations, and feature speakers’ PowerPoint presentations.



[1]  Mr. Ed Pepke, Forest Products Marketing Specialist

UNECE and FAO Timber Section, Trade Division

439 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Telephone +41 22 917 2872, Fax +41 22 917 0041

E-mail: Ed.Pepke@unece.org

 

 

[2]  Mr. Kit Prins, Chief

UNECE and FAO Timber Section, Trade Division

456 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Tel. +41 22 917 2874, Fax +41 22 917 0041

E-mail: Christopher.Prins@unece.org

 

 

[3]  Dr. Jim Bourke

Senior Forestry Officer

Forest Products Division, FAO

Via de Terme di Caracalla

I-00100 Rome, Italy

Tel. +39 06 570 54174, Fax +39 06 570 55137

E-mail: Jim.Bourke@fao.org

 

 

[4]  Mr. Jorge Najera, Panels Expert

UNECE and FAO Timber Section, Trade Division

433 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Swizerland

Telephone +41 22 917 3240, Fax +41 22 917 0041

E-mail: Jorge.Najera@unece.org

 

[5]  Mr. Volker Sasse, Forestry Officer

UNECE and FAO Timber Section, Trade Division

435 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Telephone +41 22 917 1637, Fax +41 22 917 0041

E-mail: Volker.Sasse@unece.org