Français
 
Русский
 
Español
 
العربية
 
汉语
 
Română
 
Gjuha shqipe
 
Македонски
Print page     Create PDF
Forest Products Markets in the New Millennium Speakers for the 9-10 October 2000 Timber Committee Market Discussions

(Key: bold names confirmed; Status as of 26 September 2000)

 

9 October, Monday

 

16:30    Storm effects on roundwood markets

(secretariat introduction by Mr. Kit Prins[1])

16:40 Mr. Paul Delduc

Ministère de l’agriculture et de la pêche, DERF/SDIB

19, avenue du Maine, F-75732 Paris cedex 15

Tel: +331 49 55 51 42, Fax +331 49 55 40 76

E-mail: paul.delduc@agriculture.gouv.fr

 

17:00 Mr. Marco Zanetti, Chef de Section

Office Fédéral de l'Environement, des Forêts et du Paysage

CH - 3003 Berne, Switzerland

Tel. +41 31 324 77 84, Fax +41 31 324 78 66

E-Mail  marco.zanetti@buwal.admin.ch

 

17:15 Mr. Johannes Dengg, Assistant Head of Section

Timber Markets, Forest Industry

Federal Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Forestry

Rochusstr. 1, D - 53123 Bonn 1, Germany

Tel. +49 228 529 33 59, Fax +49 228 529 43 18

E-Mail:  dengg@bml.bund.de

 

17:30  discussion

 

17:50  Economic Situation in the ECE Region

Mr. Kit Prins, Chief

Timber Section, ECE Trade Division

 

10 October, Tuesday

 

10:00 Links between sustainable forest management and sustainable forest products markets

Dr. Wulf Killmann, Director

FAO Forest Products Division

Viale dell Terme di Caracalla, I-00100 Rome, Italy

Tel. +3906 5705 3221, Fax +3906 5705 5618

E-mail: Wulf.Killmann@fao.org

 

10:30 Pulp & paper and their raw material supply

Mr. Wolfgang Schopthauser, Forest Director

CEPI - Confederation of European Paper Industries

Avenue Lousie 250, B-1050 Brussels, Belgium

Tel. +322 627 4911, Fax +322 646 8137

Website: www.cepi.org

E-mail:  W.Schopthauser@cepi.org

 

 

 

11:00  Secondary forest products markets

1. Mr. Pierre-Marie Desclos, Consultant

Via Cassia 1004, I -  00189 Rome, Italy

Tel. + 3906 30 31 1046, Fax + 3906 30 31 1293

E-mail  pmd@fnc.net

 

11:30  Softwoods

(secretariat introduction by Mr. Ed Pepke[2])

11:40  Mr. Matti Sihvonen, Department Manager

Finnish Forest Industries Federation

PO Box 336, FIN-00171 Helsinki, Finland

Tel. +358 9 132 61, Fax  +358 9 132 4410

E-mail:  matti.sihvonen@forestindustries.fi

 

12:00 Dr. Eduard Akim, Head

Dept. of Technology of Pulp and Composite Materials

4 Ivana Chernykh Street

RF-198092 St. Petersburg, Russian Federation

Tel. +7 812 247 3558, +7 812 534 9943

Fax +7 812 534 8138

E-mail: Akim@Ed.spb.su

 

12:20  discussion

 

13:00 End of morning session

 

15:00  Hardwoods

(secretariat introduction by Mr. Ed Pepke2)

15:10  Temperate hardwoods

Mr. Rupert Oliver, Editor

hardwoodmarkets.com

19 Raikeswood Drive

Skipton, North Yorkshire, UK-BD23 1NA

Tel. and Fax +44 1756 796 992

E-mail:  rjwoliver@email.msn.com

 

15:30 Tropical hardwoods

Dr. Steve Johnson, Statistician

International Tropical Timber Organization

International Organizations Center, 5th Floor

Pacifico-Yokohama, 1-1-1 Minato-Mirai, Japan

Tel. +81 45 223 1110, Fax +81 45 223 1111

E-mail: steve_j99@hotmail.com

 

15:45  discussion

 

 

 

 

 

 

16:00  Panels & Engineered Wood Products

(secretariat introduction by Mr. Jorge Najera[3])

16:10 Panels market

Ms. Ilse van den Akker, Economic Advisor

European Panel Federation

Box 5, B - 1070 Brussels, Belgium

Tel. +32 2 556 25 89, Fax +32 2 556 25 94

E-mail: Euro.Wood.Fed@skynet.be

 

16:25 Engineered wood products

Dr. Al Schuler, Research Economist

Northeast Forest Experiment Station

USDA Forest Service

Princeton, West Virginia, USA

Tel: +1 304 431 2727, Fax +1 304 431 2772

E-mail: aschuler@fs.fed.us

 

Mr. Craig Adair, Director, Market Research

APA-The Engineered Wood Association

PO Box 11700

Tacoma, Washington, USA 98411-0700

Tel. +1 253 565 6600, Fax +1 253 565 7265

E-mail: Craig.Adair@apawood.org

 

16:45  discussion

 

17:00  Certified Forest Products

(secretariat introduction by Dr. Jim Bourke[4])

17:10 Mr. Eric Boilley

Le Commerce du Bois

6 avenue de Saint-Mandé, F-75012 Paris, France

Tel: +331 44 75 58 58, Fax +331 44 75 54 00

E-mail:  lecommercedubois@wanadoo.fr

 

17:30  discussion

 

18:00 End of session

 

 



[1] Mr. Kit Prins, Chief

Timber Section, ECE Trade Division

456 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Tel. +41 22 917 2874, Fax +41 22 917 0041

E-mail: Christopher.Prins@unece.org

 

[2] Mr. Ed Pepke, Forest Products Marketing Specialist

UN-ECE and FAO, Timber Section, Trade Division

439 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Telephone +41 22 917 2872, Fax +41 22 917 0041

E-mail: Ed.Pepke@unece.org

 

 

[3] Mr. Jorge Najera, Panels Expert

Timber Section, ECE Trade Division

433 Palais des Nations

CH-1211 Geneva 10, Swizerland

Telephone +41 22 917 3240, Fax +41 22 917 0041

E-mail: Jorge.Najera@unece.org

 

 

[4] Dr. Jim Bourke

Senior Forestry Officer

Forest Products Division, FAO

Via de Terme di Caracalla

I-00100 Rome, Italy

Tel. +39 06 570 54174, Fax +39 06 570 55137

E-mail: Jim.Bourke@fao.org

 


© United Nations Economic Commissions for Europe – 2013