UNUnited Nations Economic Commission for Europe

Press Release


Geneva and Kiev, 21 May 2003

34 countries sign new Protocol on
Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers

On 21 May 2003, on the occasion of the fifth Ministerial Conference "Environment for Europe" in Kiev, Ukraine, 34 countries and the European Community signed the new Protocol on Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers to the UNECE Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters (Aarhus Convention).

These countries are:

Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.

For further information, please contact:

Mr Jeremy WATES
UNECE Environment and Human Settlements Division
Palais des Nations
CH - 1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Phone: +41 (0) 22 917 42 26 or +41 (0) 79 217 30 28 (mobile)
Fax: +41 (0) 22 907 01 07
E-mail: jeremy.wates@unece.org

Web site: http://www.unece.org/env/pp/

Ref: ECE/ENV/03/P16