UNUnited Nations Economic Commission for Europe

Press Release


Geneva and Kiev, 21 May 2003


33 countries sign new Protocol on
Strategic Environmental Assessment

On 21 May 2003, on the occasion of the fifth Ministerial Conference "Environment for Europe" in Kiev, Ukraine, 33 countries and the European Community signed the new Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment to the UNECE Convention on Environmental Impact Assessment in a Transboundary Context (Espoo Convention).

These countries are:

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Spain, Sweden, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.

For further information, please contact:

UNECE Environment and Human Settlements Division
Palais des Nations
CH - 1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

Phone: +41 (0) 22 917 24 48
Fax: +41 (0) 22 917 06 13
E-mail: wiecher.schrage@unece.org

Web site: http://www.unece.org/env/eia/



Ref: ECE/ENV/03/P14