UNUnited Nations Economic Commission for Europe
Aarhus Convention logo
Calendar of meetings Aarhus Clearinghouse Aarhus Clearinghouse Site index


Convention on Access to Information,
Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice
in Environmental Matters

Third meeting of the Parties - Riga, Latvia, 11-13 June 2008

Main page of the Third Meeting of the Parties

High-level Segment

Welcome by Latvian Minister of Enviornment Mr. Raimonds Vējonis

High-level Segment Statements

Welcome address by Mr. Gundars Daudze, Speaker of the Latvian Parliament (Saeima)

Opening remarks by Mr. Marek Belka, UNECE Executive Secretary

Opening statement by Slovenia on behalf of the European Union

I. Celebrating the first 10 years: achievements, lessons learned and future challenges

Statement by Mr. Artūras Paulauskas, Minister of Environment of the Republic of Lithuania

Statement by Ms. Françoise Nesi, Secretary-General, European Union Forum of Judges for the Environment

Statement by Mr. Bernard Snoy, Coordinator of Economic and Environmental Activities, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe

Statement by Mr. Veit Koester, Chairman of the Compliance Committee

Statement by Mr. John Hontelez, Secretary-General, European Environmental Bureau and European ECO-Forum representative on the Bureau of the Meeting of the Parties

II. Global and regional initiatives to promote principle 10 of the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development

Message delivered on behalf of Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu, United Nations Special Rapporteur of the Human Rights Council on the adverse effects of the illicit movement and dumping of toxic and dangerous products and wastes on the enjoyment of human rights

Presentation by Mr. Werner Kiene, The World Bank Inspection Panel

Presentation by Mr. Lalanath de Silva, World Resources Institute on behalf of the Access Initiative

III. Special session on the Protocol on Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers

Opening statement by Mr. Jan Dusik, Deputy Minister for the Environment, the Czech Republic, facilitator of the special session

Statement by Mr. Simon Papyan, Deputy Minister for the Environment, Armenia

Statement by Mr. Michel Amand, Chair of the Working Group on PRTRs, Belgium

IV. Interventions from the floor

Closing statement by Slovenia

Statement by Greece