Gjuha shqipe
Print page     Create PDF
Millennium Development Goals

In 2000, the United Nations adopted its Millennium Declaration which provides a comprehensive framework of core values, principles and key drivers in the three overarching mandates of the United Nations:

  • peace and security,
  • development
  • human rights.

 The subsequent Road Map towards the Implementation of the Millennium Declaration brings forward a set of eight universal development objectives, generally known as the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) to be achieved by 2015:

Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
Goal 5: Improve maternal health
Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development

The MDGs have been provided with time-bound operational targets and quantitative indicators, covering all the major dimensions of well-being: decent income, employment, nutrition, access to essential services (health, education, water, housing) and environmentally sound living conditions. For the past ten years, the MDGs have become a worldwide reference framework for moving ahead on all these fronts.


© United Nations Economic Commissions for Europe – 2013