• English


The Assistance and Cooperation Programme has been developed to enhance the capacities of countries of Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia and South-Eastern Europe in implementing the Convention.

Leaflet about the Assistance Programme: ENG RUS

Countries with economies in transition, in particular, need further assistance in order to be able to implement the requirements under the Convention. The Assistance and Cooperation Programme aims therefore at supporting Parties and UNECE countries with economies in transition to improve their industrial safety. The Programme is based on the principle that assistance can be effective only if a recipient country is capable of receiving the assistance and is willing to take advantage of it. For more information see the following document:

Internationally supported Assistance and Cooperation Programme for the East European, Caucasian and Central Asian and the South-east European countries to enhance their efforts in implementing the convention

These countries, with the exception of Albania and Turkmenistan, participated in a high-level commitment meeting (Geneva, 14–15 December 2005) and adopted the commitment declaration (see annex of the report below) through which they joined the Programme.

Report from the high-level commitment meeting
Current beneficiary countries

Currently, there are 15 beneficiary countries under the Assistance and Cooperation Programme: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Moldova, Serbia, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

In addition, Montenegro became an independent state and Turkmenistan showed interest in the Convention; the Conference of the Parties to the Convention decided in November 2012 to invite these two countries to join the Assistance and Cooperation Programme

The figure shows that the Assistance Programme consists of two phases, with the preparatory phase to result in the implementation phase upon completion. The preparatory phase includes the high-level commitment and fact-finding and, in some cases, awarenes
Assistance Programme phases

The capacity to receive assistance is demonstrated by the implementation of the basic tasks as defined under the Programme. The Assistance Programme is divided into two phases: a preparatory phase and an implementation phase. The preparatory phase consists of the expression of high-level commitment, the implementation of basic tasks and the presentation of the results to a fact finding mission, as well as awareness-raising missions and their follow-up.

When a country successfully completes the preparatory phase it is invited into the implementation phase. During this phase, assistance is provided to help the countries implementing more complex tasks. This assistance is comprised of activities that address the priority needs and are identified following the Strategic Approach.

In 2006 and 2007, 15 fact-finding missions were organized. In addition, two awareness-raising missions took place in 2009. The following countries have successfully completed the preparatory phase and entered the implementation phase: Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Croatia, Georgia, Kyrgyztan, the Republic of Moldova, Serbia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Ukraine. For further information, please see progress reports on the Assistance Programme (2012, 2010, 2008, 2006).

A decade of assistance activities

In the year 2014 the Assistance Programme celebrated its tenth anniversary. At this occasion, at the Eighth Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Industrial Accidents Convention (3-5 December 2014), a high-level panel discussion was organized. The related background document provides an overview of activities and developments during the decade, impacts and lessons learned.

A decade of assistance to countries in Eastern and South-Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia: lessons learned and future prospects ENG FRE RUS