• English


The Bureau of the Meeting of the Parties was elected at the fifth session of the Meeting of the Parties in Maastricht, the Netherlands, held from 30 June to 2 July 2014. Its current membership is as follows:


Ms. Maia Bitadze (Georgia)


Ms. Beate Berglund Ekeberg (Norway)
Mr. Lukas Pokorny (Czech Republic)


Mr. Philippe Ramet (France)
Mr. Edwin Koning (Netherlands)
Mr. Adrian  Panciuc (Republic of Moldova)
Ms. Gordana Petkovic (Serbia)

In accordance with rule 22, paragraph 2, of the rules of procedure, "the Bureau shall invite a representative of non-governmental organizations established for the purpose of, and actively engaged in, promoting environmental protection and sustainable development ... to attend bureau meetings as an observer."

Non-governmental organizations present at the fifth session of the Meeting of the Parties appointed Mr. Jeremy Wates (European ECO Forum and European Environmental Bureau) as the representative of NGOs to attend meetings of the Bureau in accordance with rule 22, paragraph 4.

Thirty-ninth meeting (13-14 December 2016)

Thirty-eighth meeting ( 17 June 2016)

Thirty-seventh meeting ( 25-26 February 2016)

Thirty-sixth meeting (19 June 2015)

Thirty-fifth meeting (3 March 2015)

Thirty-fourth meeting (29 June 2014)

Thirty-third meeting (28 February 2014)

Thirty-second meeting (2-3 December 2013)

Thirty-first meeting (21 June 2013)

Thirtieth meeting ( 26 February 2013)

Twenty-ninth meeting (5 September 2012)

Twenty-eighth meeting (28 February 2012)

Twenty-seventh meeting (27 June 2011)

Twenty-sixth meeting (9 November 2010)

Twenty-fifth meeting (30 June 2010)

Twenty-fourth meeting (26 March 2010)

Twenty-third meeting (20 November 2009)

Twenty-second meeting (7-9 July 2009)

Twenty-first meeting (30 March 2009)

Twentieth meeting (13 November 2008)

Nineteenth meeting (8 June 2008)

Eighteenth meeting (13–14 March 2008)

Seventeenth meeting (12 February 2008)

Sixteenth meeting (30 October 2007)

Fifteenth meeting (19 June 2007 )

Fourteenth meeting (2 May 2007)

Thirteenth meeting (26 January 2007)

Twelfth meeting (29  September 2006)

Eleventh meeting (4 April 2006)

Tenth meeting (17 November 2005)

Ninth meeting (22 May 2005)

Eighth meeting (1 March 2005)

Seventh meeting (31 January 2005)

Sixth meeting (8 July 2004)

Fifth meeting (2 February 2004)

Fourth meeting (22 October 2003)

Third meeting (4 July 2003)

Second meeting (19 May 2003)

First meeting (24 January 2003)

Correspondence with the Bureau of the Meeting of the Parties to the Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters (Aarhus Convention)

At its 29th meeting (Geneva, 5 September 2012) the Bureau decided that, in exceptional situations that might imply non-compliance with article 3, paragraph 8, of the Convention, the Chair of the Meeting of the Parties, after consultation with other Bureau members, would send a letter to the Party concerned soliciting information and clarifying the matter. The procedure is intended as a prompt reaction to any severe incidents that might entail non-compliance with the Convention. The Bureau agreed that the correspondence between the Bureau and the Party will be posted on the Convention’s website..

Letter from Ukrainian non-governmental organisations to the Chair of the Meeting of the Parties to the Aarhus ConventionPDF
Letter from the Chair of the Meeting of the Parties to the Aarhus Convention to the Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources of UkrainePDF
Letter from the Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources of UkrainePDFPDF