• English

Meetings & Events

{{filtered.length}} / {{meetings.length}}
{{ search | json }}
{{ search.area | json }}
{{ search.year | json }}
{{ search.$ | json }}

List of Meetings and Events on {{selectedDate | date:'fullDate'}}

List of meetings for {{search.year}}

List of Meetings and Events - All

Sixth session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Aarhus Convention

11 - 13 September 2017

Budva, Montenegro

The sixth session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters (Aarhus Convention) will take place in Budva (Becici), Montenegro, from 11 to 13 September 2017, at the kind invitation of the Government of Montenegro.

The event provides a platform for Parties, Signatories, other interested States, international organizations, civil society and other stakeholders to discuss achievements and challenges in promoting a wide range of topics, including access to information, public participation in decision-making and access to justice in environmental matters. At the session, the Parties are also expected to agree on a number of decisions to guide their implementation in the next intersessional period and discuss global promotion of the Convention.

The sixth session will be held back to back with the third session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Protocol on Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers (Protocol on PRTRs) (15 September 2017).
The two upcoming sessions will feature a joint High-level Segment on 14 September 2017 where delegations will focus on the role of the Aarhus Convention and its Protocol in implementing the Sustainable Development Goals.

The meetings venue is the Splendid Conference and SPA Resort, Budva (Becici), Montenegro. For practical and logistical arrangements, please visit the host country website www.aarhusmontenegro.me 

In the same meeting venue, the sixth session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Convention will be carried out in parallel with:

Fortieth meeting of the Convention Bureau (10 September 2017)
Fifty-eighth meeting of the Convention Compliance Committee (10-13 September 2017)  

The following information sections are common for all meetings:

• Participation and registration
• Practical arrangements
• Communication
• Media accreditation
• Side-events

Please click here for more information


Provisional organization of work

The sixth session will start on Monday, 11 September 2017, at 9 a.m. and will finish on Thursday, 14 September 2017, at 6 p.m.

The session will include:
- Preparatory Segment (11 September 2017)
- General Segment (12 – 13 September 2017)
- High-level Segment (14 September 2017) to be jointly organized with the Meeting of the Parties to the Protocol on PRTRs.

All sessions, except for a joint High-level Segment, will be organised in the format of a plenary. To allow as many speakers as possible for every agenda item, interventions from the floor should last not more than 3 minutes. Delegations are encouraged to submit text of their statements in electronic form to the secretariat (aarhus-prtr-mops[at]unece.org, indicating in the subject line “MoP-6 statement”) prior to the meeting, preferably by 11 August 2017.

Delegates wishing to attend only parts of the meetings, should keep in mind that the order and timing of sessions may change, depending on decisions made at the meeting and on the time required for discussion. Delegates are invited to take this into consideration when making their travel arrangements.

Simultaneous interpretation in English, French, Russian and in national language will be provided during all formal sessions.

For questions related to the programme, please contact the UNECE secretariat (aarhus-prtr-mops[at]unece.org).


Credentials of all representatives of the Parties and the names of alternative representatives and advisers shall be submitted to the UNECE secretariat.
To facilitate the procedure of verification of credentials, Parties to the Convention are invited to submit delegates’ credentials or a scanned copy of their credentials to the UNECE secretariat (aarhus-prtr-mops[at]unece.org, indicating in the subject line “MoP-6 credentials”) by 15 August 2017.

Those Parties that submitted a copy of their credentials should present the originals to the UNECE secretariat before the sixth session of the Meeting of the Parties, as soon as possible on arrival at the meeting in Budva (Becici).

Credentials, which are normally issued either by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs or any other person duly empowered in accordance with domestic legislation to do so, should indicate the composition of the delegation, including the Head of delegation, and should state that the respective delegation is empowered to participate in the meeting, including its High-level Segment, and to take decisions on behalf of the respective Government, following the applicable rules of procedure (see an example of credentials in English, French and Russian).



Documents, statements and other material

Documents, statements and other material for the meeting will be uploaded HERE as soon as they become available

Election of the Compliance Committees members

At its sixth session, the Meeting of the Parties is expected to elect six members of the Compliance Committee in accordance with the procedure set out in decision I/7 on the review of compliance (ECE/MP.PP/2/Add.8, En PDF, Fr PDF, Ru PDF), in conjunction with decision I/1 on the rules of procedure (ECE/MP.PP/2/Add.2, En PDF, Fr PDF, Ru PDF). To this end, Parties, Signatories and non-governmental organizations promoting environmental protection are invited to nominate candidates of recognized competence in the fields to which the Convention relates, including persons having legal experience.

The secretariat prepared a note on the membership of the Compliance Committee  (ECE/MP.PP/WG.1/2016/9) for the twentieth meeting of the Working Group of the Parties (Geneva, 15-17 June 2016), available from http://www.unece.org/env/pp/aarhus/wgp20.html#/. Please consult this document on more detailed information regarding the membership. In addition, three members have since announced their decision to step down from the membership of the Committee at the sixth session.

 The following candidates have been nominated for the Compliance Committee of the Aarhus Convention:

NameNominated by:CV
Ms. Fruzsina Bögös HungaryPDF
Mr. Pavel CernyÖkobüro on behalf of European ECO-Forum (NGO)PDF
Mr. Marc ClémentFrancePDF
Mr. Wolfgang DurnerGermanyPDF
Ms. Heghine HakhverdyanArmeniaPDF
Ms. Iordanca-Rodica IordanovRepublic of Moldova & RACSE on behalf of European ECO-Forum (NGO)PDF
Mr. Jerzy JendroskaGeorgiaPDF
Ms. Maja Kostić MandićMontenegroPDF
Mr. Peter OliverEuropean UnionPDF
Mr. Dmytro SkrylinkovUkrainePDF


Nominations had to be sent to the UNECE Aaarhus Convention secretariat (aarhus.compliance@unece.org) in at least one of the official languages of the Convention (i.e. English, French or Russian) not later than 12 weeks before the opening of the sixth session, i.e. by 19 June 2017. Each nomination had to be accompanied by the Curriculum vitae (CV) of the candidate, which should not execeed 600 words in length, and may include supporting material.

The Meeting of the Parties elects the members of the Committee by consensus, or failing consensus, by secret ballot. The Committee elects its own Chair and Vice-Chair at the next Committee’s meeting after the sixth session of the Meeting of the Parties.