Gjuha shqipe
Print page     Create PDF
Meetings & Events



                                                                                   Summary of the session

French Russian

The session was chaired by Mr. Bozo Kovacevic (Croatia), Environment Minister (Croatia). Mr. Terje Lind (Norway), Chair of the Working Group on Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA), introduced the draft protocol on strategic environmental assessment to the Espoo Convention on Environmental Impact Assessment in a Transboundary Context as well as the draft resolution on the protocol on SEA.

Keynotes speeches were delivered by Mr. Børge Brende (Norway), Minister of Environment, Ms. Aitkul Samakova (Kazakhstan), Minister of Environment,
Ms. Margaret Beckett (United Kingdom), Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Ms. Svitlana Kravchenko (Ukraine), Coordinator of ECO-Ecopravo-Lviv, and Mr. Roberto Bertollini, (WHO/EURO), Director.

The Meeting of the Parties adopted the Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment to the Espoo Convention on Environmental Impact Assessment in a Transboundary Context by acclamation. This Protocol underpinned a cross-sectoral approach by integrating environmental, including health, considerations into the preparation and adoption of plans, programmes and, to the extent appropriate, policies and legislation, and thus contributed to sustainable development.

The Meeting also adopted the Ministerial Resolution on the Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment.

Thirty-five countries and the European Community signed the Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment during the Conference. These countries are: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine, and United Kingdom.

All interested UNECE States were invited to sign this Protocol and to work actively for its ratification and implementation.

© United Nations Economic Commissions for Europe – 2013